November 3, 2009

2009 NAC Field Hockey All-Conference Teams Announced

Julia Ostrowski of St. Joseph's College of Maine was selected the North Atlantic Conference Field Hockey Player of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches. The senior forward led the league with 11 goals in conference play and along with 4 assists had a hand in over half of her team's goals as the Monks finished conference play 7-0.

Thomas first year forward Ally Kennedy was chosen as the conference Rookie of the Year. Kennedy scored twice during conference play and added two assists for the Terriers.

St. Joseph's College of Maine head coach Rupert Lewis earned recognition as NAC Coach of the Year. Lewis' team went unbeaten in regular season conference play and the Monks are the top seed in the NAC field hockey tournament.

First year program Rivier College was honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award. NAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches. Additional players honored are due to ties in the voting. 

View Complete Release


2009 Field Hockey All-Conference Teams

First Team
Helen Berry Jr. D Husson
Emma Deans Jr. M Farmington
Molly Fraher Sr. D Castleton
Jillian Kimball Sr. D St. Joseph’s (ME)
Courtney Nolan Jr. F Castleton
Kayla Nowell Jr. F St. Joseph’s (ME)
Julia Ostrowski Sr. F St. Joseph’s (ME)
Tia Pratt Jr. M Lasell
Emily Sypher Sr. F Simmons
Jen Szkolt Sr. GK Simmons
Ashley Wentworth Sr. M Farmington
Second Team
Courtney Allen Sr. M Husson
Sarah Brown Jr. GK Farmington
Alexis Evans Jr. D Thomas
Kimberly Glynn Sr. D St. Joseph’s (ME)
Lorri Hiltz So. F Husson
Sara Jannuzzi Jr. D Lasell
Jenika Kelley Sr. M Husson
Ali Kriegel Jr. F Thomas
Jillian Morin Jr. F Husson
Jessica Scott Sr. M Castleton
Alyssa St. Pierre Sr. F Farmington
Player of the Year
Julia Ostrowski Sr. F St. Joseph’s (ME)
Rookie of the Year
Ally Kennedy Fr. F Thomas
Coach of the Year
Rupert Lewis     St. Joseph’s (ME)
Team Sportsmanship Award