May 4, 2006

NAC Baseball All-Conference Teams Announced

Sophomore pitcher Charlie Furbush of St. Joseph’s College of Maine was honored as the North Atlantic Conference Baseball Player of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches. Furbush, who earned co-Players of the Year last season as a freshman, leads the nation in strikeouts per nine innings with an average of 14.6. In seven appearances during conference play, Furbush was 4-0 with two saves posting a 2.14 ERA with 34 strikeouts in 21 innings. The hurler allowed just 10 hits and five earned runs as opponents hit a meager .141 against him.

St. Joseph’s freshman outfielder Wade Oliver earned Rookie of the Year accolades. Oliver hit .357 with 4 RBI while scoring 9 runs and posting a .607 slugging percentage during league contests. Furbush and Oliver led St. Joseph’s to a regular season record of 11-1. The Monks will host this weekend’s NAC baseball tournament.

Thomas head coach Greg King was selected as NAC Coach of the Year by his peers. After a 2005 campaign in which the Terriers posted just one conference victory, King led this year’s squad to a 7-5 league mark and an appearance in the upcoming NAC baseball tournament.

Thomas and Maine-Farmington shared the Team Sportsmanship Award. NAC all-conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches. Additional players honored are due to ties in the voting.

2006 NAC Baseball All-Conference Team

All-Conference First Team
2B Devin Caron Becker Sr.
IF Luke Enman Saint Joseph's So.
P Charlie Furbush Saint Joseph's So.
SS Jason Harvey Husson Sr.
P Jack Hughes Saint Joseph's Gr.
OF Matt Pavlis Thomas Jr.
OF/P Keith Renaud Becker So.
C Kevin Renaud Becker So.
SS Brian Schools Saint Joseph's So.
CF Justin Spencer Husson Sr.
All-Conference Second Team
1B Brandon Connors Thomas College Sr.
P Anthony DeRosa Husson Fy.
SS Nathan Hawes Elms Jr.
OF Wade Oliver Saint Joseph's Fr.
3B Phil Puleo Castleton State Jr.
P Ryan Rulman Thomas Sr.
3B Adam Sheeham Husson Sr.
OF Cory Shepherd Becker Jr.
OF Jordan Stebbins Thomas Sr.
C Andrew Wood Saint Joseph's So.
SS Tim Zorio Castleton State Jr.
Honorable Mention
C Ryan Bouck Castleton State Jr.
DH/1B Sean Brawn Husson Sr.
P Jeremy Gilcris Castleton State Fr.
OF Corey Provencher UM-Farmington So.
C Nick Schauwecker Thomas Fr.
Player of the Year
P Charlie Furbush Saint Joseph's So.
Rookie the Year
OF Wade Oliver Saint Joseph's Fr.
Coach the Year
Greg King Thomas
Team Sportsmanship Award