October 22, 2016

2016 NAC East Field Hockey Championship Pairings Announced: UMF No. 1 Seed

For the Interactive Tournament Bracket - click HERE.
For the Printable (PDF) Tournament Bracket - click HERE.

The University of Maine at Farmington has claimed the top seed for the 2016 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) East Division Field Hockey Championship, which begins with a pair of semifinal matchups on campus sites Wednesday, October 26.

The Beavers (9-4 overall) earned the top seed in the conference tournament after posting a 4-1 record in NAC play. On Wednesday, October 26, UMF will host No. 4 Thomas (4-11 overall, 2-3 NAC) at 2:00 p.m., while No. 3 Colby-Sawyer (11-5, 3-2) will travel to No. 2 Husson (4-1, 7-6) for a 3:30 p.m. start. 

NAC predetermined tiebreaking procedures were used to seed teams with identical conference winning percentages.

Semifinal winners will square off for the East Division Championship title on Saturday, October 29, at a time to be determined at the site of the higher seed.

The NAC East champion will take on the NAC West champion, which will be played at Castleton University on Saturday, November 5, at a time to be determined. The NAC Crossover Champion will receive an automatic berth to the 2016 NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship.

Click HERE for the Interactive Tournament Bracket.
Click HERE for the Printable Tournament Bracket.

All start times and dates are subject to change

Semifinals • Wednesday, October 26
No. 4 Thomas (4-11 Overall, 2-3 NAC) at No. 1 UMaine-Farmington (9-4, 4-1) - 2:00 p.m.
No. 3 Colby-Sawyer (11-5, 3-2) at No. 2 Husson (7-6, 4-1) - 3:30 p.m.

NAC East Championship • Saturday, October 29
Semifinal Winners - TBD - Video

Don't forget to follow the NAC on InstagramTwitter and Facebook.

**Beginning with the 2016 season, the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) has partnered with the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) in the sport of field hockey. Field hockey sponsoring members in the NEAC will compete as associate members of the NAC. Members from each conference will be divided into an East (NAC) and West (NEAC) Division, with each division holding a championship and the two divisional champions then facing off to determine the conference champion. The conference crossover winner will earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Championships.