October 28, 2017

Husson Captures 2017 NAC East Division Field Hockey Title: Eagles Take on Keuka in Crossover

For the Interactive Tournament Bracket - click HERE.
For the Printable (PDF) Tournament Bracket - click HERE.

Senior forward Taylor Shaw scored in the 65th minute to help lift Husson past UMaine-Farmington, 3-2, in the 2017 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Field Hockey East Division Championship at the Dr. John W. Winkin Sports Complex on Saturday afternoon.

With the win, the Eagles extend their home winning streak to five games.

With the loss, the 2017 season comes to a close for UMaine-Farmington.


The Eagles controlled the pace of play early and claimed a 1-0 lead at the 32:02 mark of the first half when senior Lauren Russell scored a breakaway goal. The Husson defense kept the Beavers off the board for the rest of the half and entered the intermission with a 1-0 advantage.

The Beavers came out of the intermission hot, scoring the equalizer one and 42 seconds in the second half with an unassisted goal by junior midfielder Andrea Stemm. Less than nine minutes later freshman midfielder Leah St. Laurent put the Beavers ahead when she scored off a rebound by senior forward Jenessa Talarico.

The game remained in the favor of the Beavers until the 53rd minute when sophomore forward Sade Royer sent the insert cross on a penalty corner to a waiting senior midfielder Mikayla Toth at the top of circle. Toth then sent the ball to sophomore Arika Brochu, who passed the ball over to a wide open junior defender Abby Dyer. Dyer ripped her first career goal right through the five-hole of UMF's senior keeper Alyssa Arsenault to tie the game at two all with 16 minutes remaining in the half.

The 2-2 deadlock was snapped with 4:02 remaining in the second half when Shaw netted the eventual game-winner off a senior midfielder Amber Anderson pass at the 65:58 mark.


Husson's senior keeper Anne Marie Provencal posted eight saves in the HU's sixth NAC East Championship victory while Arsenault recorded three stops in a losing effort.


UMaine-Farmington held the lead in shots (18-13), shots on goal (11-6), and penalty corners (9-8) in the loss.


With the win, Husson improves to 18-21 in the history of the series with UMaine-Farmington and now have defeated the Beavers at home in six-consecutive meetings dating back to the 2013 campaign. The Eagles and Beavers have met in the postseason ten times and Husson holds a 7-3 mark. Seven of those ten postseason meetings have been championship final matchups with Husson winning five of them.


Husson will now face the West Division Champion, Keuka, who defeated Wilson by a score of 4-0 today, in the NAC Field Hockey Crossover Championship Game on Saturday, November 4, at 3:00 p.m., at Wells College. The winner of that game will earn the NAC's automatic berth into the 2017 NCAA Division III Field Hockey Tournament.


Anne Marie Provencal, Husson – MVP
Sadie Royer, Husson
Mikayla Toth, Husson
Lauren Russell, Husson
Taylor shaw, Husson
Carly Raymond, UMaine-Farmington
Jenessa Talarico, UMaine-Farmington
Sarita Crandall, UMaine-Farmington
Rachel Holland, Castleton
Tashia Pashby-Rockwood, Castleton
Jesse Murch, Colby-Sawyer
Jenna Donahue, Colby-Sawyer


Semifinals • Friday, October 27 (at Husson)
No. 2 UMaine-Farmington 4, No. 3 Castleton 3 - Boxscore
No. 1 Husson 3, No. 4 Colby-Sawyer 1 - Boxscore

NAC East Championship • Saturday, October 28 (at Husson)
No. 1 Husson 3, No. 2 UMaine-Farmington 2 - Boxscore

Don't forget to follow the NAC on InstagramTwitter and Facebook.

**Beginning with the 2016 season, the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) has partnered with the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) in the sport of field hockey. Field hockey sponsoring members in the NEAC will compete as associate members of the NAC. Members from each conference will be divided into an East (NAC) and West (NEAC) Division, with each division holding a championship and the two divisional champions then facing off to determine the conference champion. The conference crossover winner will earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Championships.