March 15, 2019

NAC Field Hockey Programs Earn National Academic Team Award



GILBERT, Ariz. — The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) recently announced that 131 programs earned the 2018 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Award.

The Division III National Academic Team Award recognizes programs that earned a team grade-point average of 3.0 or higher during the fall semester of the 2018-19 school year.

All three North Atlantic Conference Field Hockey programs - Husson, Thomas, and UMaine-Farmington - earned this distinction.

Swarthmore College posted the highest team GPA with a mark of 3.76. Second and third on the top-five performers list are fellow New England Small College Athletic Conference teams, Williams College and Amherst College, with a team GPA's of 3.69 and 3.65, respectively. In fourth is Haverford College with a 3.64 and in fifth is Springfield College with a 3.63 team GPA.

To see the full list of Division III National Academic Team Award winners, click here. View past award winners here.

Three Division III academic awards remain to be announced — the Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA National Academic Squad will be announced on March 20, the Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Scholars of Distinction on March 27 and the Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA National Scholar-Athlete on April 3.