NAC Men's Golf All-Conference Honorees Announced; Martin & Young Earn Top Honors

After carding the lowest score at the 2014 NAC Men's Golf Championship, Husson junior Greg Martin (Ellsworth, Maine) claimed the NAC Golfer of the Year honor. MCLA freshman Nick Young (Ballston Lake, N.Y.) earned the NAC Rookie of the Year honor after turning in the lowest first-year score at the championship, while Castleton first-year head coach Reggie Colomb was tabbed NAC Coach of the Year and the Castleton Spartans were the recipients of the Team Sportsmanship Award.

The Coach of the Year and Team Sportsmanship awards were determined by a vote of the league's coaches.


Martin, an Ellsworth, Maine native, captured medalist honors at the 2014 NAC Men's Golf Championship that was held at the Black Swan Country Club in Georgetown, Mass. On the par 72, 6,514 yard course, the junior shot a 75 on Day 1 and an impressive one-under par, 71, on Day 2. His two-day score of 146 was enough to beat out the next student-athlete by three strokes for the NAC individual crown. The 2012 NAC Rookie of the Year earned four top-four finishes during 2014 play including medalist honors at the Maine Intercollegiate Championship after shooting a three-under par (69-70-139), a second place finish at the Husson Invitational (74), tying for second at the Southern Maine Fall Classic (76-69-145), and tying for fourth place at the UMaine-Farmington Invitational (77). The junior also earned three NAC Golfer of the Week honors this season.




Young, a Ballston Lake, N.Y. native, has had an impressive freshman campaign for the Trailblazers. He carded a 76 on Day 1 of the NAC Championships and an 81 on Day 2 for a two-day total of 157 to tie for sixth place. The rookie was the MCLA leader or tied for the lead on the team at five invitationals this season including the Westfield Invite (74), the SUNY Cobleskill Invite (85), the MCLA Invite (92), the ECAC Championships (93-94-187), and the Williams Invite (96-91-187). Young also claimed the second lowest MCLA score at the Elms Invite (80). 




Colomb, in his first year as the Spartans head coach, earned the 2014 NAC Coach of the Year honor. He is a PGA member and has spent more than 30 years as an instructor to golfers at both the youth and college levels. The former Division II assistant coach (Newberry College), helped lead Castleton to a third-place finish in the NAC Championship (316-319-635) after the team finished fourth last season. The Spartans placed in the top-four at six invitationals this season including a first place finish at the Lou Jarvis Memorial Invite, two second place finishes at the Husson Invite and the Elms Invite, a third-place finish at the Westfield Invite, a fourth-place finish at the Southern Maine Fall Classic, and tying for fourth at the Trinity Invite. 


Joining Martin on the first team was junior teammate Greg Pike (Pomfret, Conn.), Castleton senior Daniel Hogan (Shelburne, Vt.), Maine Maritime junior Keenan Kalthoff (Fallbrook, Calif.), and Salem State seniors Tom MacPherson (Jefferson, Mass.) and Connor McDonagh-Poh (Holden, Mass.).

Young was honored on the second team along with Salem State senior Taylor Alvarado (Danvers, Mass.) and junior Stephen Parise (Billerica, Mass.), Castleton juniors Justin Del Bianco (Rutland, Vt.) and Jack Ralbovsky (Bennington, Vt.), Maine Maritime senior Dan Mackenzie (Millinocket, Maine), and Husson freshman Colby Snell (Big Moose Township, Maine).

For the complete 2014 NAC Men's Golf Championship results, please click HERE.

2014 NAC Golf All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team, please click HERE 

First Team    
Daniel Hogan Senior  Castleton
Keenan Kalthoff           Junior               Maine Maritime
Tom MacPherson Senior  Salem State
Connor McDonagh-Poh               Senior Salem State
Greg Martin  Junior Husson
Greg Pike Junior Husson
Second Team    
Taylor Alvarado Senior Salem State
Justin Del Bianco Junior  Castleton
Dan Mackenzie Senior Maine Maritime
Stephen Parise Junior Salem State
Jack Ralbovsky Junior  Castleton
Colby Snell Freshman Husson
Nick Young Freshman MCLA


Golfer of the Year - Greg Martin, Husson
Rookie of the Year - Nick Young, MCLA
Coach of the Year - Reggie Colomb, Castleton
Team Sportsmanship Award - Castleton

PLEASE NOTE: All-Conference teams are comprised of the medalist, plus the next ten finishers at the conference championship. Extra players are honored in the event of tie scores on the second team.