Christy, Ojala, Albright and Arehart Headline Men's Golf All-Conference Honors


SUNY Delhi Sophomore Daniel Christy earned Player of the Year honors, and Castleton freshman Nicholas Ojala earned Rookie of the Year honors, by virtue of their respective performances at the 2018 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Men's Golf Championship on October 13th and 14th at the Country Club of Vermont.

Veteran coach Dave Arehart from SUNY Delhi was selected as the Coach of the Year, and Northern Vermont University-Johnson senior David Albright was selected as Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year. All eleven head coaches and Faculty Athletic Representatives (FARs) vote for the Senior Scholar Athlete, while only head coaches vote for the Coach of the Year.

The medalist and the next five finishers make up the first team All-Conference selections, and the next five finishers comprise the All-Conference second team.


Daniel Christy (Canton, N.Y.) won the 2018 NAC Men's Golf Championship at the Country Club of Vermont by a two-stroke margin. Improving his mark of 75 from the first day of the tournament, Christy shot one-over-par 73 to close out the second day and earn medalist honors. He hit par on 18 of the 36 holes and bridied another eight, tied for the best average (3.2) on par three holes, and was just off the top average (4.4) for par 5 holes with 4.5.


Castleton University freshman Nicholas Ojala (Proctor, Vt.) was the highest finishing rookie, tying for seventh place, to earn second-team All-Conference honors and achieve Rookie of the Year status. The freshman was a picture of steadiness, hitting par on 22 holes and birdieing two more to enter 78 on the scorecard both days. The NAC Championship was his second-best 36-hole score of the season and helped guide Castleton to a fourth-place finish as a team in the tournament. Ojala finished the season with a team-best 78.5 stroke average, posted a season-low round of 74 at the opening round of the Southern Maine Fall Classic, and finished a round under 80 strokes in eight of his 10 outings on the season.




David Albright (Grantham, N.H.) is a standout student-athlete at Northern Vermont-Johnson. As a senior leader, Albright earned medalist honors in three invitationals and led his team to first place victories in each of those tournaments.  Albright earned Golfer of the Week honors for the week ending September 30, and once again led the Badgers on the golf course, finishing with the lowest score and in 17th place, shooting 165 (80, 85) over the two-day NAC Championship. A Dean's List student, Albright carries a 3.94 GPA as a Business Management major at NVU-Johnson while being active outside of the classroom and golf course, currently serving as the treasurer of the Maple Syrup Club.


Dave Arehart of SUNY Delhi earned Coach of the Year honors in the Broncos first year in NAC Men's Golf competition. Coming off an impressive 2017 season in which the Broncos won the USCAA National Championship, Arehart led the team to a runner up finish in the 2018 USCAA National Championship early in the week, and on to a second place finish in their first season of Division III competition at the NAC Championship over the weekend. Sophomore Medalist Daniel Christy led the team from an 11 point deficit on day 1 (318) to the best round of the contest on Sunday, combining to shoot 304 for a two day total of 622. The Broncos made par on 85 holes, birdied 18, and also landed one eagle. Arehart's golfers had the best average on par 3 (3.42) and par 4 (4.53) over the two-day tournament at the Vermont County Club.



2018 NAC Men's Golf All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE

First Team All-Conference

Daniel Christy, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi
Justin Serowick, Senior, Salem State
Taylor Morang, Senior, Husson
Mackenzie Clow, Senior, Husson
Eric Powers, Senior, Salem State
Gavin Dugas, Senior, Husson

Second Team All-Conference

Nick Ojala, Freshman, Castleton
Aaron Oliver, Junior, SUNY Delhi
Tom Rancour, Senior, SUNY Canton
Russell Herbert, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi
Chance Whittemore, Junior, Maine Maritime

Player of the Year
Daniel Christy, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi

Rookie of the Year
Nicholas Ojala, Freshman, Castleton

Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Dave Albright, Northern Vermont-Johnson

Coach of the Year
Dave Arehart, SUNY Delhi


The NAC Men's Golf Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the men's golf culture and match environment, and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that goes beyond golf rules and etiquette.

Sportsmanship Team
Matthew Russell, SUNY Canton
Jacob Erwin, Castleton
Brandon Palmer, SUNY Delhi
Charles deHaas, UMaine-Farmington
Mackenzie Clow, Husson
Austin Walters, Northern Vermont-Johnson
Hunter Woodbury, MCLA
Joey Moir, Maine Maritime
Reed Bourgeois, Salem State
Caleb Roy, Thomas
Michael Boone, UMaine-Presque Isle


Click HERE for a complete recap and scores of the 2018 Men's Golf championship.