NAC Champion Husson Eagles Head to NCAA Championship

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana The NCAA Division III Men's Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2019 NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships.

Husson University earned the automatic bid for the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) last fall when they won the 2018 NAC Championship. Hitting par on 85 holes and leading the pack with 21 eagles, Husson had the low score of 619 (307, 312) by three strokes to runner up SUNY Delhi - 622 (318, 304). The Broncos made a roaring comeback on day two, the best team round of the weekend, that nearly caught the 14-time champions. Eagles Taylor Morang, Mackenzie Clow, and Gavin Dugas were named to the 2018 First Team All-Conference with top-six finishes at the NAC Championship.

The Husson men's golf team competed in the second round of the 2018 NCAA Division III Championship and carded a 301 after finishing their first round play with a 307. The Eagles finished tied for 19th with a 608 (307-301), missing the team cut by one stroke, resulting in the program's best team finish at a National Championship in 16 years. Freshman Eric Dugas competed in the fourth round of the 2018 NCAA Men's Golf Championship and finished tied for 12th in a field of 217 golfers at the four-round event held at the Grandover Resort in Greensboro, North Carolina. He became the first freshman and the third golfer in program history to make the cut at a National Championship that cuts the field after the first two rounds of play. It was the second straight season Husson has had a golfer make the cut, as junior Gavin Dugas qualified in 2017. Gavin Dugas carded a 150 (75-75) and finished tied for 56th, while juniors Mackenzie Clow (78-80), Taylor Morang (83-75) and Daulton Wickenden (79-79) all tied for 134th with a 158.

DIII MEN'S GOLF: Regional rankings

The 2019 championships, which will be held May 14-17 at Keene Trace Golf Club, in Nicholasville, Kentucky, will be hosted by Transylvania University. The team and individual champions will be determined after 72 holes of play or the conclusion of the last fully completed round. Forty-two teams and six individuals not on one of those teams were selected to participate in the championships. After 36 holes of competition, the field will be cut to the top 18 teams and top six individuals not on one of those teams.

A total of 216 participants will compete at the 2019 championships. Thirty-two conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the championships. Three teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final seven berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams. The six individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team. Listed below are the teams and individuals selected for the 2019 championships: