NAC Men's Golf All-Conference Team Announced

With a two-round total of 141 (72-69), Castleton State College's William Banfield (pictured right) captured medalist honors and earned NAC Player of the Year. First year golfer Joe Messerman (pictured below) of Farmington earned Rookie of the Year honors finishing tied for 11th with a 160.

Husson placed four members on the first team leading the Eagles to their fifth consecutive North Atlantic Conference golf championship. After an opening round 75, Husson's Matthew Loubier rebounded with a five-under par 67 Sunday to capture second place overall (142) followed by round-one leader Chris Hamel in second (143), 2009 Player of the Year Kevin Byrne in fifth (147) and Michael Hersey (153) in sixth. 

Byrne, Loubier and Hersey were all repeat all-conference performers. Farmington's Nick Waltz also earned first-team accolades shooting a 146 finishing fourth.

Maine Maritime head coach Shawn Dennis was named NAC Coach of the Year in a vote by his peers. Dennis believes in creating a positive, enjoyable environment is conducive to learning both golf skills and life skills.

Maine Maritime was honored with the Team Sportsmanship Award.


2010 NAC Golf All-Conference Teams

First Team

Will Banfield, Castleton
Kevin Byrne, Husson
Chris Hamel, Husson
Michael Hersey, Husson
Matt Loubier, Husson
Nick Waltz, Farmington

Second Team

Orion Cochrane, Farmington
Brian Johnson, Husson
Richard Matthews, Farmington
Joe Messerman, Farmington
Sam Morse, Castleton
Eric Slosek, Castleton

Player of the Year
Will Banfield, Castleton

Rookie of the Year
Joe Messerman, Farmington

Sportsmanship Award
Maine Maritime Academy

Coach of the Year
Shawn Dennis, Maine Maritime