Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Honors 2019



Josh Yelvington of SUNY Canton was named North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year, and teammate Noah Robinson was tabbed Rookie of the Year. Their head coach, Pat Harrington, was selected as the Coach of the Year. Husson long stick midfielder Chad Merrill was named Defensive Player of the Year, and Northern Vermont-Lyndon's Kiernan Brisson earned Senior Scholar Athlete honors. Seven men's lacrosse student-athletes were named to the Sportsmanship Team, and 24 men were named to the First and Second All-Conference Teams.

NAC All-Conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.


SUNY Canton midfielder Josh Yelvington (Carthage, NY) is the 2019 NAC Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year. Yelvington scored 48 goals and is credited with 22 assists and 70 points in 15 games this season. He tallied a league-leading 25 goals and 33 points, with eight assists, in only five conference games. Aggressive on the attack, Yelvington also led the league with 40 shots on goal in conference games, and 104 overall. He found the back of the net 59.7% of the time when shooting on goal, and scored at least four goals in each of the five league games. The senior was selected as the player of the week twice this season, April 21 and April 28. Yelvington scored the game-winning goal that propelled Canton past SUNY Delhi and into the first-seed in the NAC Championship tournament.



Chad Merrill (Sabattus, Maine) is the 2019 NAC Men's Lacrosse Defensive Player of the Year. The Husson senior and long stick midfielder was a defensive force all season, collecting 55 ground balls in five NAC games, and 78 overall. A steady hand with the stick, Merrill forced nine turnovers in conference games. He anchored a defense that that allowed fewer than three goals, while collecting double-digit ground balls, in two conference wins. He also helped the Eagles offensively with four assists, and two goals on five shots-on-goal in NAC play.


SUNY Canton freshman Noah Robinson (Mississauga, ON) is the 2019 NAC Men's Lacrosse Rookie of the Year. The three-time NAC Rookie of the Week finished the year as the Roos' second-leading scorer with 49 points. He scored in 13 games, including six games with a hat trick or more. In five conference games, Noah averaged 3.4 goals and five points per game, with a total of 17 goals, 8 assists, and 25 points. Hard to defend, Robinson fired off 38 shots on goal and scored 69.1% of the time in conference games. He also picked up 21 ground balls and caused seven turnovers in NAC contests.

  Northern Vermont-Lyndon senior Kiernan Brisson (Milon, NH) is the 2019 NAC Men's Lacrosse Senior Scholar Athlete. Brisson achieved a 3.5 GPA or higher every semester at NVU-Lyndon, earning Dean's List honors each time. He was named to the President's List once, which requires a 4.0 semester GPA, and heads into graduation with a cumulative 3.83 GPA in Electronic Journalism Arts. Brisson received the LSC Scholar Award and the LSC VT Broadcasters scholarship several times. Beyond the classroom, Brisson has spent time volunteering with local youth, most recently volunteering for the St. Johnsbury Youth Lacrosse program. On the field, the defender appeared in 11 games for the Hornets. In five conference games he scooped up six ground balls and caused eight turnovers.

SUNY Canton head coach Pat Harrington is the 2019 NAC Men's Lacrosse Coach of the Year. In the first year in the North Atlantic Conference, the Roos were undefeated in league play and are heading into the championship game this weekend for a bid to the NCAA DIII Men's Lacrosse Championship. Harrington's players were selected as Athletes of the Week fourteen times, and were represented in each of the nine weeks that honors have been given so far. His players lead the league in points, goals, and shots-on-goal percentage across five conference games, and he produced both the Rookie and Player of the Year. 


Joining Yelvington and Robinson on the First Team All-Conference are teammates Hunter Olsen and Brandon Schmidt. SUNY Delhi claims six spots with Malik Talbert, John Rohan III, Travis Biggs, Sean Tillman, Travis Anderson, and Nick Dower. Nathan Granholm of Maine Maritime, and Defensive Player of the Year Chad Merrill of Husson University complete the team.

Second team selections include Husson's Zach Glazier, Gunner McAllister, Blane Miller, and Matt Martin. Maine Maritime is represented by Zeke Tocci, Alex Snowman, and William Evon. SUNY Delhi student athletes Antonio Russo and Ryan Cumisky, as well as SUNY Canton's Jacob Facey, Northern Vermont-Lyndon's Shea Jones, and Thomas College's Jarrod Leonardi also made the squad.


2019 NAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE 

First Team
A - Malik Talbert, Senior, SUNY Delhi
A - John Rohan III, Junior, SUNY Delhi
A - Hunter Olsen, Freshman, SUNY Canton
M - Josh Yelvington, Senior, SUNY Canton
M - Noah Robinson, Freshman, SUNY Canton
M - Travis Biggs, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi
LSM - Chad Merrill, Senior, Husson
D - Brandon Schmidt, Sophomore, SUNY Canton
D - Nathan Granholm, Junior, Maine Maritime
D - Sean Tillman, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi
GK - Travis Anderson, Freshman, SUNY Delhi
FO - Nick Dower, Freshman, SUNY Delhi

Second Team
A - Zach Glazier, Senior, Husson
A - Zeke Tocci, Sophomore, Maine Maritime
A - Jacob Facey, Junior, SUNY Canton
M - Shea Jones, Senior, NVU-Lyndon
M - Gunner McAllister, Sophomore, Husson
M - Blane Miller, Junior, Husson
LSM - William Evon, Sophomore, Maine Maritime
D - Ryan Cumisky, Sophomore, SUNY Delhi
D - Antonio Russo, Junior, SUNY Delhi
D - Jarrod Leonardi, Senior, Thomas
GK - Matt Martin, Senior, Husson
FO - Alex Snowman, Freshman, Maine Maritime

Player of the Year
Josh Yelvington, Senior, SUNY Canton

Defensive Player of the Year
Chad Merrill, Senior, Husson

Rookie of the Year
Noah Robinson, Freshman, SUNY Canton

Senior Scholar Athlete
Kiernan Brisson, Senior, NVU-Lyndon

Coach of the Year
Pat Harrington, SUNY Canton

Sportsmanship Team
Brenden McNally, Sophomore, Husson
Oscar Kwok, Freshman, Maine Maritime
Dylan Griffin, Sophomore, NVU-Johnson
Spencer Aubin, Senior, NVU-Lyndon
Kody Kocsis, Senior, SUNY Canton
Brandon Katz, Junior, SUNY Delhi
Harry Heald, Senior, Thomas

The NAC Men's Lacrosse Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the lacrosse culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the playing rules and etiquette.