Colby-Sawyer Wins NAC East Division Tennis Title

2014 NAC East Division Champions The Colby-Sawyer College men's tennis team defeated Castleton, 5-0 in Sunday's North Atlantic Conference (NAC) East Division Championship to advance to the NAC/NEAC Crossover with a trip to the NCAA Tournament on the line.

The Chargers will play Penn. St. Abington on Saturday, May 3 at 6 p.m. at Sportime in Schenectady, N.Y. Abington upset Rutgers-Camden in the NAC West Division title match, 5-2. Colby-Sawyer swept doubles play in convincing fashion, dropping just one game.

Dean Boodakian gave Colby-Sawyer a 4-0 lead with a 6-0, 6-0 win at No. 5 singles. He was named to the All-Tournament team. Tournament MVP, Myles Utell closed out the match with a 6-0, 6-2 victory at the No. 2 spot.

NAC Eastern Division All-Tournament Team
Tournament MVP
Colby-Sawyer – Myles Utell
All Tournament Team
Lyndon St. – John Corey
Thomas – Eric Morin
Castleton – Kevin Rosset
Colby-Sawyer – Dean Boodakian

Colby-Sawyer 5, Lyndon St. 0 - RECAP
Castleton 5, Thomas 3 - RECAP - RECAP

April 204, 2014

The Colby-Sawyer College men's tennis team has earned the top seed in the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) East Division men's tennis tournament for the second consecutive season after posting a perfect 5-0 record in conference play.

Colby-Sawyer will host a one-day final four tournament on Sunday, April 27 in Hanover, N.H. The Chargers will play the fourth seed Hornets of Lyndon (5-5, 3-2 NAC) in a rematch of last year's semifinals. The other semifinal is also a rematch of last season, but with different seeds. Second seed Thomas (6-5, 5-1 NAC) will play third seed Castleton (7-5, 4-2 NAC).

Matches will begin on Sunday, April 27, at the Boss Tennis Center on the campus of Dartmouth College at 2 p.m. in a single elimination final four format. The winners of the semifinal matches will then play for the NAC East Division title.

Beginning with the 2010 season, the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) has partnered with the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) in the sports of men's and women's tennis.  The NEAC will compete as associate members of the NAC men's tennis, while the NAC will compete as associate members of the NEAC in women's tennis.  Members from each conference will be divided into an East and West Division for each sport, with each division holding a championship and the two divisional champions then facing off to determine the conference champion. The conference winner for each sport will earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Championships.