March 13, 2018

Colby-Sawyer Men's Tennis Takes Top Spot in 2018 NAC East Preseason Poll

Colby-Sawyer was the unanimous selection in the 2018 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) East Division men's tennis preseason coaches' poll. The six-time NAC East Champions garnered all six first-place votes for a total of 36 points, while Castleton and the 2017 NAC East runner up, Thomas, tied for second with a total of 27 points apiece.

MCLA was tabbed fourth with 16 points, while Lyndon claimed fifth with 11 points and Johnson was voted sixth with nine points.

Voting for the preseason poll was conducted among the league's head men's tennis coaches.

2018 NAC Men's Tennis Preseason Coaches' Poll

   Team                    Points (First Place Votes)
 1. Colby-Sawyer   36 (6)
 T2. Castleton 27
 T2. Thomas  27
 4. MCLA    16
 5.    Lyndon  11
 6. Johnson 9

The top four teams in the 2018 poll competed in the NAC East four-team Championship Tournament a season ago. The Chargers claimed the No. 1 seed after finishing the regular season with an unblemished 6-0 NAC East record, while the Terriers finished NAC East play at 5-1 (No. 2), the Spartans posted a 4-2 record (No. 3), and the Trailblazers ended with a 3-3 conference mark (No. 4).

In the NAC East Semifinals, Colby-Sawyer claimed a 9-0 win over MCLA, while Thomas earned a 5-4 victory over Castleton. Then in the championship match, the Chargers defeated the Terriers 6-0 to win their sixth-straight NAC East Division championship and advanced to play in the NAC/NEAC Crossover Championship.

Colby-Sawyer earned the NAC Title with a 9-0 victory over Penn St. Berks, earning the program's fifth-straight bid to the NCAA Tournament.

On the national stage, the Chargers put up another great performance, but fell short dropping a 5-3 match to Baruch.

Throughout the next two weeks all seven NAC East men's tennis teams will have kicked off the spring season and their quest for the 2018 conference title. The top four teams in the regular-season NAC East standings will qualify for the East Division Tournament, which is scheduled for Saturday, April 28, at Castleton. The date and location for the Crossover Championship against the NAC West champion, from the NEAC, will be announced at a later date.

Click HERE to view the 2018 NAC East Men's Tennis composite schedule.

2018 NAC East Men's Tennis Previews

**For more information on each team, click the school name to be directed to the men's tennis section of each school's website.


1. Colby-Sawyer (14-11, 6-0 NAC East), the six-time defending NAC East champions, will be led by ninth-year head coach Barry Schoonmaker. The Chargers return two-time NAC Player of the Year and First Team selection senior Gustav Jigrup (Gothebburg, Vastra Frolunda, Sweden; pictured right) and former NAC Rookie of the Year and First Team honoree junior Alex Wright (St. Austell, Cornwall, England). Jigrup went 16-8 overall last season, while also going 4-0 in conference action at the top flight. Wright tied for second on the team with 15 wins and played at the top three spots throughout the season with 10 wins coming at No. 2. The Chargers competed in a few tournaments in the fall and lost their only dual match to Division II Southern New Hampshire. The spring slate begins this week and will continue next week in Florida against teams from around the country.  



T2. Castleton (9-4, 4-2 NAC East) will see Bruce Moreton enter his 18th season at the helm, as the Spartans search for a spot in the NAC East Championship after falling in the semifinal round in 2017. Quentin Barthe (Bordeaux, France; pictured right) and Ryan Mulder (Ottawa, Ont.) return for Castleton after securing All-NAC recognition. Barthe went a team-best 10-2 overall and 5-1 in conference play, while Mulder notched 9-2 and 4-1 records. Also returning for Castleton is Trevor Hanna (Whitehorse, Yukon), who tallied a 7-1 record overall and an unscathed 3-0 slate in league action. The Spartans open action at 4:00 p.m. on Thursday against Norwich. 



T2. Thomas (11-6, 5-1 NAC East)
 looks to return to the NAC East Championship again this season under the guidance of first-year head coach Rob Disch. The Terriers return all of their top five players from a year ago with Ryan Chasse (Fort Kent, Maine; pictured right), Ross Munn (Brunswick, Maine), Zachary Disch (Waterville, Maine), Jared Waterhouse (Dayton, Maine), and Kaleb Payson (Lamoine, Maine). Chasse, the 2016 NAC Rookie of the Year, tallied a near-perfect 5-1 record in singles and doubles at the No. 1 flight in NAC East action, earning a spot on both first teams. Disch, Chasse's doubles partner, also went 5-1 on the three line to make the singles second team. Waterhouse and Payson earned second team doubles honors as they teamed up for a 5-1 record on the No. 2 flight. The Terriers will open their season on March 11 against Webster University as they travel to Hilton Head Island, South Carolina for their spring trip. 



4. MCLA (4-7, 3-3 NAC East)
 will be under the leadership of Adam Hildabrand who enters his first season at the helm. The Trailblazers return All-NAC performer Aaron Goldsmith (Mattapan, Mass.; pictured right), who should be the team's top returning player. MCLA also returns senior Jared Freeman (Rotterdam, N.Y.) and will welcome five new athletes this season. The team will seek a return to the NAC tournament after falling to eventual champion Colby-Sawyer one year ago. 




5. Lyndon (3-10, 1-5 NAC East) will again be led by sixth-year head coach Laura Laramee. Senior Jake LaCerda (Gray, Maine; pictured right) returns and is expected to step up to No. 1 singles. Other key returnees include sophomore Neal Mulligan (Marshfield, Vt.) and senior Ben Seward (Bennington, Vt.). The Hornets have a very young, but very athletic and ambitious team that has come a long way since last season and look to climb the NAC ranks. 



6. Johnson (1-13, 0-6 NAC East) head coach Charlie Yerrick enters his sixth season leading the Badgers. Senior Gerrit Lane (Moretown, Vt.; pictured right) returns at the No. 1 position and should be in contention for an outstanding season. Other returning starters include Evan Daigneault (Newfane, Vt.), Ethan Hutchinson (Canterbury, N.H.) and Quinn Lambert (Joppatowne, Md.). Having graduated six seniors last year, the Badgers will have some exciting new talent competing this season.