Husson Claims First NAC Men’s Outdoor Track & Field Championship Title

Husson won its first North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Men's Outdoor Track & Field Championship on a cold and rainy Sunday at the Sally Shaw Veitch Track & Field.

The Eagles earned today's victory by compiling 198 points, while Colby-Sawyer, the two-time defending champions, finished second with 182 points. UMaine-Farmington placed third (127), followed by Castleton (49) in fourth, while Johnson and UMaine-Presque Isle tied for fifth with 12 points and Lyndon finished seventh (8). SUNY Delhi did not score in the meet as a team, but if an individual athlete won an event he was recognized as a NAC champion.

For complete results, click HERE.

Each event winner was honored as a 2018 NAC champion:

Husson's Robenson Saintard took home a pair of NAC titles in the sprints. After a time of 11.23 to be the top qualifier in the 100-meter dash prelims, Saintard lowered his time to win the finals in a New England qualifying time of 11.14. He followed with a victory in the 200-meter dash with another New England qualifying time of 22.73. In the 800-meter run, the Eagles received a top finish by Zach Hartman in a time of 2:02.33, while Cayd Wortman set a meet record in the 110-meter hurdles to win the event in a time of 16.12. Another meet record was set by the 4x100-meter relay team of Jake Dobos, Evan Chadbourne, Race Bouchard and Saintard, combining for a time of 43.55. Jeff Ward came away with a win in the long jump with a distance of 6.36 meters. In the hammer, Eric Hathaway posted a distance of 50.00 meters to smash the previous meet record of 41.45 meters. Justin Martin wrapped up the win for Husson by cruising to a convincing victory in the javelin. He won the event by almost nine meters after a throw of 53.09 meters.

Colby-Sawyer's Kyle Diezel scored first-place points by winning the 400-meter dash with a meet record and New England qualifying time of 50.91, while Karl Nyholm collected a first place in the shot put with a New England qualifying distance of 15.47 meters.

UMaine-Farmington's Shane Hathaway earned the Beavers 10 points with a win in the triple jump. His winning distance was 12.50 meters.

For SUNY Delhi, Kobie Lane took home a medal by winning the 1500-meter run in a time of 4:12.84. Jon Messler added a victory for the Broncos in the 5000-meter run with an impressive time of 16:20.53. In the 400-meter hurdles, Tyler Magnan claimed the top spot with a meet record time of 59.10, while Wesley Cruz came away with first place in the 3000-meter steeplechase with a time of 10:03.90. The 4x400-meter relay team of Lucas Reilly, Sean Andrews, Magnan, and Esdras Charles combined for a winning time of 3:36.07. Delhi's Mike Beebe won the high jump by achieving a meet record height of 1.98 meters, while teammate Matthew Scavetta was the winner in the pole vault with a height of 4.10 meters. Brandon Holliday gave the Broncos another win with an impressive performance and meet record in the discus, winning the event by almost five meters with a throw of 46.82 meters.

--Courtesy of Colby-Sawyer Sports Information