2014 NAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Announced; Scheibenpflug & Hunt Take Top Honors

Lyndon senior Tyler Scheibenpflug (Wolcott, Conn.) led the Hornets to the 2014 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Men's Cross Country title, while earning the 2014 NAC Runner of the Year honor. The senior, who finished in fifth one season ago (28:58), won the NAC Championship in a time of 25:27, which was 37 seconds faster than the second-place finisher. New England College freshman Korey Hunt (Franklin, Mass.) completed the 8k course in 27:27, good enough to place him 11th overall and to earn the 2014 NAC Rookie of the Year.

In a vote of the conference coaches, Lyndon head coach Chris Ummer* was honored as conference Coach of the Year for the seventh-straight season after leading the Hornets to their sixth title, while Castleton earned the league's Sportsmanship Award.



Scheibenpflug, a Wolcott, Conn. native, has had a standout season for the Hornets. The senior made an impressive showing, as he placed in the top 41 at all of his meets during his senior campaign. Scheibenpflug had two top-two finishes, as he earned medalist honors (25:27) at the 2014 NAC Championship and a runner-up finish (27:41) at the Vermont State Intercollegiate Championship. As one of the Hornets' top runners, he claimed 23rd (27:08.41) out of 88 runners at the Bowdoin Invitational, 32nd (25:11.20) out of 262 runners at the New England Open, and 41st (27:24.5) out of 235 runners at the Purple Valley Invitational.


Hunt, a Franklin, Mass. native, has made great strides during his freshman campaign. The rookie finished in the top 36 at four of his races this season, highlighted by his 11th-place (27:27) finish at the NAC Championship, which was a career-best 8k time for the freshman. Hunt ran strong for the Pilgrims in five other races including a 23rd-place finish (29:20) out of 67 runners at the Castleton Invitational, 26th (29:05) out of 127 runners at the Keene State Invitational, 36th (18:18) out of 138 at New England College's Mayflower Kickoff, 76th (28:06.53) out of 388 runners at the James Early Invitational, and 158th (28:39.48) out of 255 runners at the UMass.-Dartmouth Invitational. 




Ummer's squad was selected as the preseason favorite to win the 2014 title and the Hornets did not disappoint. The veteran head coach lead his team to a first place finish at the NAC Championship for the sixth time after scoring 38 points. Four Lyndon runners placed within the top ten, including the individual winner of the race senior Tyler Scheibenpflug, who crossed the finish line at 25:27. The Hornets also earned two other top-three finishes, as they placed second at the Vermont State Championships and third at the Bowdoin Invitational this season. 


The top seven finishers, plus the medalist at the NAC Championship are honored as All-Conference First Team runners, while the next seven runners are honored as the All-Conference Second Team.

Joining Scheibenpflug on the first team All-Conference were Hornet teammates senior Kenedi Hall (Hartland, Vt.) and junior Timothy LaRoche (South Hadley, Mass.), Colby-Sawyer junior Benjamin Bunnell (Barnet, Vt.), senior Hayden Bunnell (Barnet, Vt.), and sophomore Brandon Legendre (Waterford, Vt.), UMaine-Farmington sophomore Austin Gatcomb (Wrentham, Mass.), and Johnson State junior Brendan Walsh (Killingworth, Conn.). 

Second team honorees included Hunt, Pilgrim teammate sophomore Scott Shaw (Norfolk, Conn.), Castleton junior Ben Girard (Manchester, Mass.) and freshman Grandon Smith (Newtown, Ct.), UMaine-Farmington freshman Robert Hollis (Auburn, Maine), Lyndon junior Joshua Hopmans (Hinsdale, Mass.), and Maine Maritime freshman Zachary Kinsman (Lebanon, N.H.).

2014 NAC Men's Cross Country All-Conference Teams


First Team    
Benjamin Bunnell           Junior             Colby-Sawyer                
Hayden Bunnell  Senior  Colby-Sawyer
Austin Gatcomb  Sophomore  UMaine-Farmington
Kenedi Hall  Senior  Lyndon
Timothy LaRoche  Junior  Lyndon
Brandon Legendre   Sophomore Colby-Sawyer
Tyler Scheibenpflug  Senior  Lyndon
Brendan Walsh  Junior  Johnson State
Second Team     
Ben Girard  Junior  Castleton
Robert Hollis  Freshman  UMaine-Farmington
Joshua Hopmans  Junior  Lyndon
Korey Hunt  Freshman  New England College
Zachary Kinsman  Freshman  Maine Maritime
Scott Shaw  Sophomore  New England College
Grandon Smith  Freshman  Castleton

Runner of the Year
- Tyler Scheibenpflug, Lyndon
Rookie of the Year - Korey Hunt, New England College
Coach of the Year - Chris Ummer, Lyndon*
Team Sportsmanship Award - Castleton

*Award vacated by Lyndon State and the NCAA Committee on Infractions.