Husson Women's Basketball Draws Amherst in NCAA First Round


NCAA Division III Women's Basketball Interactive Bracket

NCAA Division III Women's Basketball Championship Home

The NCAA Division III Women's Basketball Committee announced today the field of 64 teams for the 2019 championship. Husson University, the 2019 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Champion, will play Amherst College in the first round of the DIII tournament. The Eagles will travel to Amherst, Massachusetts to play the Mammoths this Friday.

Husson (19-8) claimed its fourth-consecutive NAC Women's Basketball Championship, and the team's sixth overall, with a 58-51 win over Maine Maritime to earn the conference's automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament. Amherst (23-3) enters the national tournament as the 2019 NESCAC Champions and defending Division III National Champions. Amherst will also host Vassar (21-6) and SUNY Geneseo (23-4) on Friday, with the winners playing Saturday for the opportunity to advance to the sectional round.

Forty-three conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for the 2019 championship (Pool A).  There is one berth reserved for Pool B and the final 20 berths are reserved for Pool C, which includes institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any Pool B teams.

Sixteen four-team sites will host first- and second-round games on the opening Friday, March 1/Saturday, March 2. Sectional sites for the advancing 16 teams will be determined on March 3. The 2019 national semifinals and championship game will be played March 15-16 at the Cregger Center in Salem, Virginia. All three final site games will be live streamed on

Amherst won last year's DIII women's basketball national championship, closing out a perfect 33-0 season with a victory over Bowdoin in Rochester, Minnesota. Bowdoin checks in at No. 1 in the latest WBCA coaches poll (Feb. 18), ahead of Thomas More, St. Thomas (MN) and Amherst.