2016 NEAC East Women's Tennis All-Conference Announced: Allen, Page & Woodside Claim Top Honors

Colby-Sawyer junior Ashley Woodside (Hampden, Maine) has been selected as the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) East Division Women's Tennis Player of the Year, while Johnson State freshman Grace Page (Bennington, Vt.) was tabbed Rookie of the Year and Thomas senior Lindsey Allen (Jay, Maine) was named the Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year. Johnson State head coach Michele Whitmore was voted the 2016 NEAC Coach of the Year and eight women's tennis student-athletes were selected to the NEAC East Women's Tennis Sportsmanship Team to headline the 2016 All-Conference announcement.

NEAC East All-Conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.



Woodside was a two-time NEAC East Player of the Week this season after leading the Chargers to their fifth-straight perfect conference season. The 2014 Rookie of the Year has been a First Team Singles and First Team Doubles honoree all three seasons of her collegiate career. The junior went 6-3 in all matches this fall at the top flight and completed her third straight perfect conference season with a mark of 5-0. Woodside is now 14-0 in conference singles matches after three seasons. Earlier this season, Woodside moved into seventh on the career doubles list with 44 and she is 11th in total career wins with 78 at Colby-Sawyer. 


Page has been an incredible addition to the Badger lineup. She posted an overall doubles record of 4-4, including an impressive 4-1 record in conference action, while also playing at the No. 2 position all season in singles, posting four wins. She showed true determination in her first season coming up with several key wins. In her first match of the season, she dropped her first set 6-4, but then battled back to take the next two sets 7-5, 10-8 to earn the win and help her team earn a 6-3 opening victory. The freshman was selected NEAC East Rookie of the Week three times this season.



Allen, a Business Management/MBA major, has served as a role model in both the classroom and on the court and is being acknowledged for her commitment to tennis and her studies. Academically, she earned the highest academic scholarship entering Thomas College, the Suma Cum Laude Scholarship. She has been a member of the National Honor Society, has played a pivotal role on the Student Philanthropy Team, served on both the Student Athlete Advisory Committee and as an Orientation Leader, and was a representative for the senior class on the Thomas College Judicial Review Board. She was heavily involved in the Terrier community all while being on the fast track program for her MBA. On the court, Allen tallied a career conference record of 12-13 in singles and 15-10 in doubles. She claimed Rookie of the Year in 2013 after going 4-1 at No. 3 and No. 4 singles and recorded a 4-1 record at No. 1 doubles. She also earned Rookie of the Week twice that season. The senior was named first team doubles in 2013 and 2014 after posting a combined 9-2 record at No. 1 doubles. Last season, she earned first team singles after tallying a 4-3 record at No. 1 singles. 




Whitmore has earned her first NEAC East Coach of the Year award. The eight-year mentor directed the Badgers to a 9-4 overall record, including a 5-2 mark in conference play to earn the No. 2 seed in the upcoming conference tournament. Over the last three seasons Johnson State has seen vast improvement, including increasing its win total by four matches from 2014 to 2015 and then tallying the team's highest winning percentage throughout Whitmore's tenure this season, .692. Her teams have claimed four team sportsmanship awards, an all-tournament selection, a Rookie of the Year, and three All-Conference selection. 



Joining Woodside on the first team singles All-Conference squad were Charger teammates, sophomore Maddy Gemerek (Ballston Spa, N.Y.) and junior Evelyn Miller (Smithfield, R.I.), Husson sophomore Meridith Blessard (Lincoln, Maine), Johnson State senior Katherina Van Woerkom (Miami, Fla.), and Thomas junior Olivia Mora (Surry, Maine).

First team doubles selections include the Colby-Sawyer pairs of Gemerek and Woodside and Miller and sophomore Aislinn O'Connor (New Fairfield, Conn ), and the MCLA duo of juniors Emily Deaso (Pittsfield, Mass.) and Mariza Sfakianaki (Williamstown, Mass.).

Second team singles honorees include Castleton junior Ciara Bannister (St. Albans, Vt.) and sophomore Kirsten Kruk (Clifton Park, N.Y.), Colby-Sawyer junior Lauren Blanchard (Agawam, Mass.) and O'Connor, Johnson State sophomore Jana Somero (St. Albans, Vt.), and MCLA's Sfakianaki.

Second team doubles choices include the Colby-Sawyer tandem of Blanchard and junior Christine Hill (Wallingford, Conn.) and the Husson pairs of sophomore Charlotte Bednarz (Westport, Mass.) and senior Sarah Smith (Calais, Maine) and Blessard and senior Katie Pratt (Rockport, Maine).

The NEAC East Women's Tennis Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the women's tennis culture and match environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the tennis playing rules and etiquette. The following eight individuals have been selected to the 2016 Sportsmanship Team, Castleton junior Kyla Zsido (Rutland, Vt.), Colby-Sawyer's O'Connor, Green Mountain senior Alex Reedy (Rutland, Vt.), Husson freshman Jocelyn Bell (Holden, Maine), Johnson State junior Nicole Monick (Bennington, Vt.), Lyndon senior Carina Alden (Monterey, Mass.), MCLA freshman Sarah Hachadourian (Longmeadow, Mass.), and Thomas junior Amelia Guimond (Fort Kent, Maine).

2016 NEAC East Division All-Conference Teams
To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE

First Team Singles
Meridith Blessard, Sophomore, Husson
Maddy Gemerek, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Evelyn Miller, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Olivia Mora, Junior, Thomas
Katherina Van Woerkom, Senior, Johnson State
Ashley Woodside, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
First Team Doubles
Colby-Sawyer - Maddy Gemerek, Sophomore  / Ashley Woodside, Junior
Colby-Sawyer - Evelyn Miller, Junior / Aislinn O'Connor, Sophomore
MCLA - Emily Deaso, Junior / Mariza Sfakianaki, Junior
Second Team Singles
Ciara Bannister, Junior, Castleton
Lauren Blanchard, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Kirsten Kruk, Sophomore, Castleton
Aislinn O'Connor, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Mariza Sfakianaki, Junior, MCLA
Jana Somero, Sophomore, Johnson State
Second Team Doubles
Colby-Sawyer - Lauren Blanchard, Junior / Christine Hill, Junior
Husson - Charlotte Bednarz, Sophomore / Sarah Smith, Senior
Husson - Meridith Blessard, Sophomore / Katie Pratt, Senior
Player of the Year
Ashley Woodside, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Rookie of the Year
Grace Page, Freshman, Johnson State
Senior Scholar Athlete
Lindsey Allen, Senior, Thomas
Coach of the Year
Michele Whitmore, Eighth Season, Johnson State
Sportsmanship Team
Carina Alden, Senior, Lyndon
Jocelyn Bell, Freshman, Husson
Amelia Guimond, Junior, Thomas
Sarah Hachadourian, Freshman, MCLA
Nicole Monick, Junior, Johnson State
Aislinn O'Connor, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Alex Reedy, Senior, Green Mountain
Kyla Zsido, Junior, Castleton