Colby-Sawyer Women's Tennis Claims Fifth-Consecutive NAC/NEAC Crossover Title

The Colby-Sawyer women's tennis team claimed its fifth-straight North Atlantic Conference (NAC)/North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) crossover crown after defeating Penn St. Abington, 9-0, on Sunday at the Tri-City Tennis Club

Today's meeting was the first between the two teams. Colby-Sawyer improves to 16-5 and will find out on Monday when and where the team will play in the 2017 NCAA Tournament. Penn St. Abington ends its season at 8-6.

The Chargers took a commanding 3-0 by sweeping doubles. The No. 2 tandem of Evelyn Miller (Smithfield, R.I.) and Aislinn O'Connor (New Fairfield, Conn.) posted the first point with an 8-1 win over Stephanie Jin (Bluebell, Pa.) and Janie Saile (Huntington Valley, Pa.). The top duo of Ashley Woodside (Hampden, Maine) and Maddy Gemerek (Ballston Spa, N.Y.) followed suit with an 8-1 triumph over Honora Hegarty (Abington, Pa.) and Madison Kimball (Jenkintown, Pa.). Hilary Boucher (Presque Isle, Maine) and Michelle Lopes (West Hartford, Conn.) made it a sweep for the Chargers with an 8-3 win at No. 3 over Sam Amaro (Philadelphia, Pa.) and Sally Phung (Philadelphia, Pa.).

Woodside put the Chargers one point away from the title with a 6-1, 6-1 win at the top flight over Hegarty.

The match clinching point came at the No. 3 spot. Gemerek sent the Chargers to the NCAA's for the fifth straight season with a 6-1, 6-1 victory over Kimball.

Miller dropped just one game in her 6-0, 6-1 win at No. 2 over Jin, while O'Connor defeated Phung at No. 4 in similar fashion, 6-1, 6-0.

Lauren Blanchard (Agawam, Mass.) also picked up a 6-0, 6-1 victory over Saile at the fifth flight.

Christine Hill (Wallingford, Conn.) gave Colby-Sawyer the 9-0 win with a 6-2, 6-2 triumph over Amaro at No. 6. 

Beginning with the 2010 season, the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) partnered with the North Eastern Athletic Conference (NEAC) in the sports of men's and women's tennis. The NAC will compete as associate members of the NEAC in women's tennis, while the NEAC will compete as associate members of the NAC in men's tennis. Members from each conference will be divided into an East (NAC) and West (NEAC) Division for each sport, with each division holding a championship and the two divisional champions then facing off to determine the conference champion. The conference winner for each sport will earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Championships.