Colby-Sawyer Earns the 2015 NAC Women's Cross Country Championship

(photo courtesy of Monty Rand Photography)

BANGOR, Maine – The Colby-Sawyer Chargers earned their second-consecutive NAC cross country title after finishing first at the 2015 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Championship Saturday afternoon. Abby Shafter of New England College won her third-straight NAC individual title with a time of 20:07.20. 

The Chargers earned first place after scoring 30 points with five runners in the top eleven. The 5k championship race included 106 total runners, representing 10 schools.

The women's runner-up was UMaine-Farmington, as the Beavers turned in a 59, while Castleton was third with a score of 90 followed by Maine Maritime (124), Husson (149), New England College (174), Lyndon (189), Green Mountain (197), Thomas (232) and Johnson State (244).

For complete results, please click HERE.   |   Championship highlight video - click HERE.

Shafer won her third straight individual NAC title in 2015, completing the 5K course nearly 30 seconds ahead of her nearest competitor. Emily Lopez and Lauren Oligny of Colby-Sawyer finished second and third respectively in 20:36.56 and 20:43.47, while Allison Granata of New England College crossed the finish line fourth with a time of 21:52.12. Colby-Sawyer's Martha Aschale placed fifth in 21:54.01, Laura Pulito of UMaine-Farmington was sixth in 21:58.97, and Haley Kennedy and Elizabeth Bassette, both of Castleton, rounded out the top eight, with times of 22:01.75 and 22:08.34 respectively.