November 23, 2005

NAC Men's and Womenís Cross Country All-Conference Teams Announced

For the second consecutive season, University of Maine-Farmington swept the North Atlantic Conference Cross Country post-season honors after defending both the men's and women's titles.

UMF senior Andrea Spearrin captured her second consecutive Runner of the Year crown after winning the race in a time of 21:36.1, almost 45 seconds faster than the nearest competitor. Senior Joseph Fitzsimmons was the third different UMF male to earn Runner of the Year honors in three straight seasons. Fitzsimmons led the Beaver men to their third championship in a row in a time of 29:23.9 besting the rest of the field by almost a minute and a half.

Men's coach Arvid Cullenberg was honored as the conference Coach of the Year for the third consecutive season while Katie Herbine picked up the award in her first season as the head coach of the Beaver women.

Womenís Cross Country All-Conference Teams Menís Cross Country All-Conference Teams
First Team  First Team
Andrea SpearrinSr.Me.-FarmingtonJoseph FitzsimmonsSr.Me.-Farmington
Kate DickinsonJr.Me.-FarmingtonDrew CroteauJr.Me.-Farmington
Katie SprowlSo.Castleton StateGabriel McConkeySo.Johnson State
Teri SlawekFr.Me.-FarmingtonCharles PerryJr. Maine Maritime
Sam PoseyFr.Me.-FarmingtonChris GatchellSo.Castleton State
Kayla McKennaFr.LasellKeenan WhiteSr.Castleton State
Allison RobinsonFr. Johnson StateTharjiath RoutSo.Me.-Farmington
Second TeamSecond Team
Jenifer DickieJr. Johnson StateMatt ChamberlinJr.Johnson State
Erika HoddinottJr.Me.-FarmingtonJonathan PreuseFr.Johnson State
Danielle RingJr.Mount IdaTom HiteFr.Me.-Farmington
Lilliana GermanSr.Johnson StateJeffrey CampbellFr.Johnson State
Samantha BillingtonSr.LasellChristopher Johnson Fr.Lasell
Serena GallagherSo.Castleton StateGreg LauranzanoJr.Lasell
Beth PantzerSo.Castleton StateThomas OíConnerSo.Johnson State
Runner of the YearRunner of the Year
Andrea SpearrinSr.Me.-FarmingtonJoseph FitzsimmonsSr.Me.-Farmington
Coach of the YearCoach of the Year
Katie HerbineMe.-FarmingtonArvid CullenbergMe.-Farmington